Skip to content ↓

Moat Primary Academy

Our Houses

Our house groups

At Moat, every child belongs to one of four houses – Teak (Green), Oak (Yellow), Maple (Blue) or Ash (Red). Each house group was named by the pupils and based on the trees that they could see surounding the school.

Belonging to a house is a very important aspect of being part of our school. Each house is led by a House Captain. Each year, Year 6 pupils are elected as house captains who lead their house in school sports and competitions.

House and vice house captains are also responsible for collecting and distributing house points, showing visitors around the school and acting as ambassadors.

Teak (Green) House

They are tall, dramatic members of the mint family. The tree’s foliage is red when the leaves first come in but green when they mature. Teak trees produce wood that is known for its durability and beauty.

Oak (Yellow) House

Well known for its beautiful, lobed green leaves and tiny acorns, the oak is cherished across the world as a symbol of wisdom, strength and endurance.

Maple (Blue) House

The UK's only native maple, it is found growing in woods, scrub and hedgerows, and on chalk lowland. It is widely planted in gardens and parks due to its compact habit, tolerance of pollution and rich autumn colours. 

Ash (Red) House

Most ash trees are small to medium in height, though some grow to 18–34 metres. The leaves of ash trees usually have an odd number of leaflets, often five to nine. The flowers are usually small and grow in showy clusters, and some species have petalled blooms.

Teak Leaf

Oak Leaf

Maple Leaf

Ash Leaf

More tree facts

Top 10 facts about trees!
External Link - Fun Kids Live